

Enrollment Task Force

Under the charge of the Provost, the Enrollment Task Force (ETF) is necessitated by the current chronic environment of declining enrollment following sharp recession-driven enrollment increases. Many factors contribute to the current challenges including an improving economy, stagnant demographics, intense competition and more. These conditions demand more than ever a university-wide approach to addressing recruitment and retention of standard and unconventional segments of students.

Best practice strategic enrollment management (SEM) organization and procedures have long been standard at UNM and should continue but the multitude of obstacles and changing higher education landscape dictate that a comprehensive campus initiative with emphasis and urgency be established to formulate short- and long-term solutions to reverse the current enrollment trend.

Charge:

Develop recommendations to increase enrollment at all student levels and multiple market segments. Consider recruitment strategies, market opportunities and financial considerations with high return on investment. In addition, student retention must be a principle component of an effective strategic enrollment management plan and the task force should evaluate data-driven evidence to propose action that can improve the return rates of non-degree, undergraduate, graduate and professional students.

Chair: Christos Christodoulou, Dean of School of Engineering

Co-chair: Terry Babbitt, Chief Enrollment Officer and President's Interim Chief of Staff

Members: ASUNM delegate: Madeline Kee, ASUNM finance senator

GPSA delegate: Mark Nervaez

Julie Coonrod, Dean of Graduate Studies

Laura Valdez, Director of Advisement Strategies

Brian Malone, Executive Director of Enrollment Management

Matt Hulett, Director of Admissions

Scott Carreathers, Director of African American Student Services Corine Gonzales, Strategic Project Director, Enrollment Management

Mark Peceny, Dean of Arts & Sciences

Debby Knotts, Executive Director of Extended Learning

Pam Sedillo, Student Success Manager, College of Population Health Krystal Ward, Assistant Dean for Student Affairs, College of Pharmacy

Alice Letteney, CEO, Valencia

Eric Lau, Chair, Department of Music, College of Fine Arts Craig White, Dean of Anderson School of Management

Rosa Cervantes, Director of El Centro de La Raza

Pamela Agoyo, Director of American Indian Student Services

Robert Del Campo, Dean of University College

Dana Allen, VP Alumni Relations

Daniel Borrego, Bursar Ethan Gregory, UCAM

Pablo Torres, Senior Operations Manager, Global Education Office

Sydney Gunthrope, Vice President, Central New Mexico Community College

Faculty Senate Representative

Karen Gardner, Program Planning Manager, Arts and Sciences